Visitor Visa Subclass 600

The Visitor visa subclass 600 is commonly known as a ‘tourist visa’. The Australian tourist visa allows people to visit Australia for a holiday or recreation, or to visit family and/or friends for a stay up to three, six or twelve months.

If you are looking to apply for the tourist visa on your own without the assistance of a Migration Agent, do your research before lodging because you might be eligible for the eVisitor visa (subclass 651) or the Electronic Travel Authority (subclass 601) visa. You must be a passport holder of a certain country to apply for these visas.

Who should apply for a Visitor Visa?

If you wish to visit Australia for a holiday, sightseeing, or to visit family or friends you will need to apply for a Visitor visa (Subclass 600 – Tourist stream).

People intending informal study or training for less than 3 months, may also apply for a Visitor visa.

Paid work is not allowed on a Visitor visa.

The subclass 600 visitor visa has a number of other stream options including the Sponsored Family stream. Applications for this stream are lodged and processed in Australia.

Criteria for Assessing Tourist Stream Visitor Visa

Applicants must satisfy four essential criteria to apply for the Visitor visa tourist stream:

  • they must genuinely intend to stay temporarily in Australia;
  • they must be seeking to visit Australia for purposes other than business or medical treatment;
  • they must have access to or have adequate means to support themselves; and
  • they must satisfy the relevant public interest criteria, including health and character.



If you are outside Australia, you must hold a passport from an eligible country to apply online for a Visitor visa (subclass 600).

In Australia, all passport holders can apply online for a Visitor visa extension.

Important: The Department recommends that applicants’ hold a passport that will still be valid for at least six months. A visitor visa can usually be granted only to an applicant with a valid passport.


Note: If you are not eligible to make an online application you should submit a paper application for the Visitor visa (subclass 600 – Tourist Stream), which can be lodged at your nearest Australian Immigration office.


Online Application

Type of Application Who can apply
Visitor Visa subclass 600 ·      Applicant holds an eligible passport or travel documents

·      Applicant is outside Australia

·      Applicant wants to visit Australia for tourism or business

Visitor Visa extension ·      Applicant is in Australia

·      Applicant wants to extend their stay in Australia for tourism purposes

·      Applicant will be required to meet the following requirements:

–       The applicant holds a substantive visa

–       The applicant’s current visa does not have an 8503 condition ‘No Further Stay’ or the applicant has been granted an 8503 waiver

–       The applicant meets all the eligibility criteria for the visitor visa

Length of Visitor Visa

  • the visitor visa can allow single or multiple entries
  • the visitor visa can be granted for 3, 6, or 12 months stay in Australia on each occasion

Important: Visitor Visas are designed for people whose intention is to visit Australia for short periods. They cannot generally be used for staying in Australia for longer than 12 months and cannot be used to establish ongoing residence in Australia.

Visitor Visa Subclass 600 Processing Time

Processing times can change from time to time. For more accurate processing time see Global Processing Times.

Visitor Visa Fees

  • Visitor visa subclass 600 ranges from AUD140 to AUD1020, depending on the stream.
  • eVisitor visa subclass 651 is free.
  • Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) visa subclass 601 has a AUD20 service charge.

Fees can change from time to time. For more accurate fee see current visa pricing table.

How Can Crux Migration Help

The Visitor visa can easily be obtained for low-risk countries but for countries that are high risk, it can sometimes be difficult and commonly refused if the application is not done properly.

Agape Henry Crux (formally known as Crux Migration) can help assess your eligibility and tailor your tourist visa according to your circumstances. Visit our website to book a consultation with our Immigration Lawyers and Migration Agents.


Visitor Visa FAQ

1. Which country of passport is considered being an eligible country to apply online for a Visitor Visa subclass 600?



  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burma
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cape Verde
  • Cayman Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • China, People’s Republic of
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of the
  • Congo, Republic of the
  • Costa Rica
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic


  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Ethiopia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong British National (Overseas)
  • Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Korea, Republic of
  • Korea, Democratic People’s Republic
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg


  • Macau Special Administrative Region
  • Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia, Federated States
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Palestinian Authority
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • San Marino


  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan, Republic of
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Taiwan*
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom (British Citizens, British protected person, British overseas citizen, British subject, or a national of the British Crown Dependencies)
  • United Nations Organisation/United Nations Agency
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam
  • Virgin Islands
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe



*Must not purport to be an official or diplomatic passport.​​​​​​​